How can we help you today?

Abi scoops The John Cranwell Trophy

For the third year running a pupil from our school has won The John Cranwell Trophy in this year’s Oswestry Borderland Rotary Club Young Writers Competition.

2nd Form pupil Abigail Hitchen was awarded 1st prize and the Trophy while Sixth Form pupil Erin Thorpe-Downey received a 2nd place certificate.

The late Rotarian John Cranwell was a founder member of Borderland Rotary and, for many years, an antique bookseller trading as “Bookworld” in Beatrice Street, Oswestry. After his death in 2014, members of Borderland Rotary in Oswestry decided that, in keeping with John’s passion for the literary arts, a fitting memorial would be to recognise young people for their creative writing skills and The John Cranwell Young Writer Award was commissioned.

This annual trophy is presented for the best submission to Borderland Rotary Club in the local round of Rotary’s Young Writer Competition. The first winner in 2015 was Jenny Cyffin-Jones (there was no award in 2016) and last year’s winner was Rachel Roberts, both girls still studying at Oswestry School.

The certificates and trophy were presented by Oswestry Borderland Rotary President Sherie Soper and Rotarian Peter Martin.