Founder's Day 2018

Founder's Day was a triumph this year. 

It all began in the morning with a very well attended and jovial AGM (despite the early hour) where the committe voted in new members including a new President, Ian Campbell (1968-73), Treasurer, David Ward (1960-69), Darron Humphreys (1986-88) and Alun Morris (1988-07).  From here everyone popped across the road to Bellan House to enjoy coffee before heading to St Oswald's Parish Church for the Founder's Service and a rousing rendition of Gaude Plebs.



Following the service everyone headed to the newly built Momentum Hall, sponsored by OO Howard Jones (1979-89) for the dedication of the Richard Sale Timepiece. In September 2017 a group of Old Oswestrians, headed by John Batchlor (1962-67) and Steve Hodge (1964-71), returned to school to celebrate their 50th anniversary of leaving the school. During a wonderful evening a substantial sum of money was raised, and this was given to the School to fund the new clock/scoreboard in the Momentum Hall. The timepiece was named after ex-Headmaster Richard Sale and was officially opened on Founder's Day by his daughter Jackie Knight.

IMG 0560


After the timepiece dedication the girls took over the sports hall and the OO vs School netball commenced. This was swiftly followed by the Bog Run (a reincarnation of the traditional 'Triangle'); 2.5 miles around the Maes-y-Llan and adjoining fields. Hockey and football were the last competitions to take place and spectators enjoyed the matches with complimentary pulled-pork baps, hot soup and warming cups of mulled wine.

Photographs from all the sports can be found HERE



School were victorious this year taking home the trophies for each competition.  '(Wo)Man of the Match' accolades went to Jacob Tidridge (Bog Run), Lizzie Jones, 2001-15 (netball), Elise Fisher, 2000-14 (hockey), Adam Lloyd, 2003-11 (1st XI football) and George Read, 1993-07 (2nd XI football).

After a quick shower and change thoughts soon turned to the Founder's Dinner held in The Wynnstay Hotel. Wilsons was jam-packed with diners meeting up for pre-dinner drinks before everyone took their place in the Paddock Suite. Fine food, fine wine and fine conversation flowed before the formal part of the evening commenced.  Guests heard from the Society Chairman, Tim Goff (1981-91), the Headmaster and new OO Adelina Creciun (2016-18) who thanked the Society for giving her the first Old Oswestrian Award, presented at Speech Day, and explained how the award has helped her since leaving school.

Toasts rang out with each decade from the current one to the 1930's represented. Our oldest OO, Syd Bailey (1929-39) was in attendance and stood to receive the toast to those who were here in the 1930's.

Before the DJ took over and dancing ensued the Society held an auction to raise money for the Old Oswestrian Award. Enormous thanks go to all who participated and to those who won - an impressive £2,835 was raised on the evening.  

Photos from the dinner can be found HERE

IMG 0627